Currently, the 8-hour training program is permitted under special waivers, exceptions, or flexibilities for temporary nurse aide roles in these states: Delaware, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, South Dakota, Texas, and West Virginia
Additional training or other actions may be required in these states (please contact your state health care association or appropriate state agency for additional information about your state’s requirements): Alabama, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Kansas, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Hampshire, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia.
If you plan to work in the state of Oklahoma or Rhode Island, you will need to take the free 16-hour course located here.
Effective Jan. 19th, 2021, Illinois has updated its TNA requirements. Visit the Illinois website to learn more.
In Delaware, any individuals who have taken the course before July 13th can still work under supervision and have until December 31st to become fully certified as a Certified Nursing Assistant. In addition, there are opportunities for these individuals for expedited training and potential financial assistance. Contact Delaware Health care Association to learn more.
If your state is not listed above:
You may also contact your state health care association for additional information about your state’s requirements.
Need help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
To Get Started, Log In or Create an Account and Register for the Course
8 HR Course (FREE)
Need help? Email email@example.com
If you plan to work in the state of Oklahoma or Rhode Island, you will need to take the free 16 hr course.16 HR Course (FREE)
What does a Temporary Nurse Aide Do?
The Temporary Nurse Aide will help to provide aspects of resident care that include:
- Activities of Daily Living
- Oral Care
- Grooming - Shaving and Nail Care
- Dressing and Undressing
- Infection Control and Prevention
- Positioning, Moving, and Restorative Care
- Nutrition and Elimination
- Comfort Care and End of Life Care
How to Get Started
- If you are new to this site, you will need to CREATE AN ACCOUNT. You do not need to fill out a company name if you don’t have one.
- After you create your account, go back to www.tempnurseaide.com and click REGISTER. This course is free.
- To begin the course, click the Course contents tab. Then click on the first item and complete it. You can move through the course at your own pace, stopping and returning to where you left off anytime.
- To avoid technical problems, use CHROME. Do not use Internet Explorer. Internet Explorer does not work well with this site.
- If you need assistance, please e-mail your questions to firstname.lastname@example.org. We will get back to you as soon as possible.
When will the Temporary Nurse Aide Certificates Expire?
U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary Xavier Becerra renewed the declaration that a public health emergency (PHE) exists. This is effective January 16, 2022 and will continue for 90 days pursuant to federal law.
PHE renewal through mid-April is welcome news. It provides for the uninterrupted continuation of several flexibilities that have protected beneficiary access to important services in as safe and effective manner as possible.
The best way to make sure that you are able to continue working when the public health emergency eventually does expire is to continue your training and become a certified nurse aide (CNA). The federal government and individual states are working hard to make that easier for you to do.
To find out what is happening in your state, check with your state nurse aide registry. This Directory of Nurse Aide Registries provides contact information by state.
AHCA/NCAL has created these courses to assist providers to recruit and train temporary staff during the national emergency caused by the coronavirus pandemic. While the federal government has issued a blanket waiver for such temporary nurse aides, state requirements may need to be waived to permit individuals under this training program in your location. Employers should check with their state survey agencies and their state occupational licensing agencies, where applicable, to ensure individuals trained under this program are permitted to assist with care in your location.
|Access Date||Quiz Result||Score||Actions|